I woke up disoriented yesterday.

My alarm was set very early. As my clock struck 6:30 am, I was awaken by Maroon 5’s Beautiful Goodbye and nearly jumped off my bed thinking it was Sunday. Sunday meant I had to work for the live show. My first thought was: “Fuck! Did I email the script?!” then I realized it was Tuesday… it was freaking Tuesday.

Guess I haven’t really recovered from the tiring week I had last week.

There are so many things to do and I often feel that 24 hours a day is not enough. I’m really in the industry, aren’t I? Just half a year into it and I already have the taste of what people I know who work in the industry often tell me… it’s draining.

It is fun. No doubt. But the exhaustion will eventually get to you. SIGH. And as the stress of it all takes a toll on me, physically and mentally, I get pissed off easily. Irritated with people even.

After an hour or so of venting out, I thought to myself, am I becoming one of those people. Those people being cold-hearted, ego centric, exaggerated career driven individuals who don’t care for anybody else. People whose lives revolve around their jobs. The typical industry people our professors warned us about. I don’t want to be one of those people.

I’m afraid, that i’ll wake up one morning and I have become the person I hate. Scary thought, huh?

Maybe I need to think of a way to manage all this. Being new and all. I have to immerse myself to be the best writer I can be without losing sight of what is really important. At the end of the day, it is only a job, right? How do you do great at what you do by getting really into it but not losing yourself while you’re at it.

How do i do that?

 

