Feb-ulous Challenge Day 22 & 23

I love… Harry Potter.

45342_10151286352116914_878203199_n

Here’s the new cover for the new editions to be released this year.

Move over Twi-hards because this year marks the 15th year anniversary of this awesome work of literature: The Harry Potter book series. I’ve been a fan since 2001. I remember reading my first ever paper back Harry Potter book: The Chamber of Secrets for a book report. It was sophomore year in high school and I didn’t know what it was about or that it was a series that’s why I read Chamber (Book 2) first before The Sorcerer’s Stone. I just knew that I had to find a book that’s easy to read. Being a crammer that I was, my plan was to skim the pages and skip some chapters and be done with the project but then after reading the first few chapters I was… enchanted. That was the beginning of my magical journey with Harry Potter.

My first ever Harry Potter book dated July 3, 2001

My first ever Harry Potter book dated July 3, 2001

The pages are already aging, the book's been with me for 12 years. That's half of my existence on earth. :)

The pages are already aging, the book’s been with me for 12 years. That’s half of my existence on earth. ๐Ÿ™‚

It all sounds so geeky, right? But really, I’m a big fan. I got all seven books. Read them cover to cover at least 3 times. The first two are paper back while the rest are hard bound. I remember waiting for the release every single year and I would line up at the stores and search everywhere because it was sold out most of the time.

Books 1 to 7 occupy my top shelf. :)

Books 1 to 7 occupy my top shelf. ๐Ÿ™‚

To say that they were well written books would be the understatement of the century. I can get lost in the books and be taken into the halls of Hogwarts and I could simply imagine hanging out at Hogsmeade drinking a butterbeer. What’s also amazing is how J.K. Rowling came up with all the spells in the book. She’s got spells for mundane stuff like lighting a room (lumos) and for keeping dementors (expecto patronum) and killing bad wizards (avada kedavra). How cool is that?!

I am still amazed how J.K. Rowling managed to keep us on the edge of our seats for 7 books. Turning every page of this “unputdownable” book. Their adventures every semester made my heart race and the losses made me shed some tears. It was heartbreaking to know that Sirius Black, Dobby, Lupin, Tonks, Dumbledore, and others had to die fighting off the forces of the Dark Lord that is Lord Voldemort.

My favorite is Book 3: The Prisoner of Azkaban

My favorite is Book 3: The Prisoner of Azkaban

Thinking about it, I now understand why it has a strong following. The story progressed as its readers matured. I always felt like I grew up with the characters. That’s why I cried when I read the dedication of the last book: The Deathly Hallows, it read:

The dedication of this book is split seven ways: to Neil, to Jessica, to David, to Kenzie, to Di, to Anne, and toย YOU,ย if you have stuck with Harry until the very end.

YOU. She was talking to me! Haha. I’m totally fan-girling right now but I was one of those who stuck with Harry and his story for almost a decade. It’s so awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

Harry Potter is a magical book that showed the enchanting world of witches, wizards, goblins, elves, giants, dragons, spells, Triwizard Tournaments, magical sports (READ: Quidditch), and most importantly it’s a story of friendship, courage, and the power of love. It doesn’t get any better than that.

