Feb-ulous Challenge Day 18

I love the smell of… grass.

green grass is home. <3

green grass is home ❤

On my way home tonight, I passed by the rotunda located at the entrance of our village. It has a big and sort of egg shaped structure in the middle. The ground is covered with grass and around it are random types of plants. This is my regular route home but tonight when the jeep passed the roundabout I smelled grass, freshly watered grass, and it kinda reminded me of my childhood.

Remember how smells can transport you back in time and refresh your memory? That’s what happened to me. When I was in elementary, my school – which is now replaced with condominiums and parking lots – was beside the old St. Therese of the Child Jesus Church which is now The Shrine of St. Therese. The old church had a big garden at the back with lots of Santan flowers and Yellowbell trees. That old church and its flowery garden was a big part of my childhood. My friends and I would run around, chasing each other, playing until my asthma attacks. We’d have our drum and lyre practices and field demonstration rehearsals beside the church near that very garden. We would seek shade under the trees and lie on the grass even though it made us itchy. I remember collecting flowers and then placing them as an offering to the huge statue of St. Therese placed in the middle of the garden.

Santan Flower

Santan Flower

Those Santan flowers were not only an offering to the saints but were also sweet snacks… or so we thought it was. You can ask everybody who went to my elementary school. We all tried getting that nectar at the tip of the Santan because, I don’t know who, but somebody said it was sweet. Trust me, it isn’t, it was like an urban legend sort of thing or like the kisses hoax. But I was one of those many kids plucking and “tasting” the santan flowers in the church garden. We looked like idiots convincing ourselves it was sweet, but it was fun though because nothing beats bonding over nectar, right?

Anywho, the smell of grass is like an express ticket down memory lane. It got me to thinking though, I did have a great childhood. I met my best friends then and up until now we’re all still together. The church, our school, and the garden may be gone forever but with a whiff of that old familiar smell, the memories come back.

PS. Below is a photo of the kisses

Kisses! :)

Kisses! 🙂

Let me tell you something about this kisses. They are small circular, colorful, and scented… erm… thingies that we collected as kids. According to kiddie urban legend (or as we come to realize… it’s a hoax!), these kisses multiply on their own. They say the bigger ones are “pregnant” kisses and then after a few days they give birth and multiply. I remember my cousins and I believed that ridiculous story so we put our kisses in a container lined with cotton to make the kisses comfortable. Yup, we were crazy kids but can you blame us? I mean we have to make sure our kisses are comfortable, they are pregnant after all. 😀

