Feb-ulous Challenge Day 14

It is Valentines’ Day today. For many, it’s a day of romance, flowers, chocolates, dates, and everything in between. I’ve never really celebrated this “holiday” for obvious reasons, of course, but I’ve had my share of flowers and chocolates over the years though. Some of my guy friends are sweet enough to give me something on their way to their own dates and I truly appreciate that.

Anywho, I must admit that this year my case of Valentines blues was… erm… let’s say more pressing unlike the previous years. The constant teasing and reminder of people around to join speed dating events or even go on random blind dates come up in conversations more frequent than usual. It’s okay, I guess. I just laugh it off but then I’d be lying if I tell you that it doesn’t bother me because I guess, truthfully, it does. A little bit.

So while I was not excited to see Thursday, everything changed when I got a text this morning that said:

“Happy heart’s day ๐Ÿ™‚ remember good things come 2 those who wait :)”

That was sent to me by… my mom. ๐Ÿ™‚ I couldn’t help but smile and feel loved. Isn’t she the sweetest?ย I was ready to bitch about today and was preparing to roll my eyes on bouquet-carrying-extra-mushy boys and girls but then after reading that how can you not be touched and be okay with all the supposedly annoying cheesiness in the air?

I love my mom because she doesn’t make me feel like I’m a freak for being single at 24 even though she has her occasional one liners and punchlines about how my love life is going (or not going, for that matter). But i guess that’s her job as my mom. What I’m trying to say, i guess, is that it’s always nice to have people who remind you that you are loved and special too. I may not have found my Valentine just yet but I guess my mom’s right, good things come to those who wait. So while I do wait, I guess, she’s gonna be my Valentine for a little bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

"Hey that's my mum!" - Shaun from Shaun of the Dead

“Hey that’s my mum!” – Shaun from Shaun of the Dead

