1 Post A Day Challenge – ENTRY #25

I went grocery shopping with my parents today. My brother is usually the one who goes with them but he’s somewhere doing something for his wedding so I’m on duty for parents-sitting. πŸ™‚ I hate going to the grocery. I know it’s something that girls should be delighted to do because it’s a sort of shopping but I don’t like it very much. It’s not really because of the task but mostly because of the people you shop with.

3 Types of Grocery Shoppers

1. Slowpokes

People tend to pace themselves in the grocery which is perfectly fine, I think. Sometimes though, it gets irritating because, really, how long does it take for you to decide which cooking oil or detergent you’re gonna get. They really take their time and end up hogging a portion of the isle.

2. Child Laborers

You can’t blame parents who bring kids to the grocery. They have their reasons, maybe there are no sitters or it’s a family thing, it don’t know but what sucks is if they can’t control their kids. I especially hate it when they allow their kids to push the carts. It’s too big or too heavy (if it’s already full) for them. They’ll just end up banging someone’s knees or roll over somebody’s toes. Imagine the cart as your car, would you allow your kids to drive it? It’s a grocery not a play ground. Sheesh.

3. Carefree Peeps

The isles in the grocery stores are not as big as we all would like it to be. It usually just fits 2 carts for a 2-way traffic along isles. It pisses me off when the people just leave their carts in the middle of the isle to get whatever it is that they’re getting. They just don’t give a shiz. Then they create an obstruction in the isle and causes, can you believe it, traffic. Traffic inside the grocery, great, as if we don’t have enough of that outside.

I just don’t get it why some people are the way they are. Some even have their grandparents, who can barely walk, with them inside the grocery. Seriously?! I feel bad that they have to walk through every isle with their canes and with the speed of 2 out of 5. There are also these kids who are on the verge of throwing a fit. When they finally do. It’s a spectacle, seeing a child kicking and screaming because their mom didn’t get them that cereal or that candy bar. Maybe grocery shopping is fun. There’s action, drama, and comedy! I mean you get to see people make a fool out of themselves with their slight lapse in etiquette and the kids publicly humiliate their parents. It doesn’t get any better than that.

