1 Post A Day Challenge – ENTRY #10

One of my good friends came by the house today out of boredom and because he was a dude I thought I’d better stop my Gossip Girl marathon for a bit. We were looking for a movie to watch but nothing struck our fancy so I told him we should just watch F.R.I.E.N.D.S.

It’s my favorite series of all time. My brother got me the whole 10 seasons for Christmas in 2008 and I spent the whole Christmas vacation watching it. The series first aired in 1994. I remember it was syndicated here in the Philippines and was aired in the defunct ABC 5 network now known as TV 5. I was only 6 years old then so as my brother (who was 12 and Β was beyond his years so he kinda appreciated it even then) and my mom watched it, I was pretty clueless. It was after the final season that I started watching reruns on cable TV and ended up being a fan.

The story is about the lives of 6 friends who are in their 20’s and are living in New York. It features the struggles of being young, relationships, work pressure, and everything in between. Saying that it’s funny is an understatement. Sometimes I even read back quotes in IMDB.com when I’m bored and it cracks me up.

My favorite FRIENDS character would have to be Chandler Bing played by Matthew Perry. I think he’s the funniest of the bunch with his sarcasm. Although they are hilarious collectively, he’s probably the funniest individually. I mean his dad’s a tranny, first of all, and he had the worst experience with girls (read: Janice – the nasal ex-girlfriend that he can’t seem to break up with). He was in a whole lot of self-deprecating funny situations.

Janice: “You’re my Bing-a-ling.”

Some of my favorite episodes were the one where they had to do a quiz. It was Rachel and Monica versus Chandler and Joey. Ross was the game master. They ended up switching apartments because Rachel and Monica didn’t get the last question in the lightning round which was: “What do Chandler do for a living?”. I also loved the thanksgiving episode with Brad Pitt and the flash back episodes.

Here’s a clip of the Best of Chandler Bing:

 

I could watch re-runs all day long. I was so hooked I wanted to be friends with them. I know. I’m kinda lame but they’re like so much fun to be around. Maybe the reason why it clicked was because people can relate. I mean, maybe we know someone who’s bratty like Rachel (I know somebody like her), or who is a little weird like Phoebe, or a typical guy like Joey, a geek like Ross, a sarcastic dude like Chandler, or a control freak like Monica. They sort of remind us of somebody in our own circle of friends or even ourselves sometimes and I guess that’s the reason why the series lasted for 10 years. πŸ™‚

 

