I have come to a realization that I hate it when people tell me what to do.

I know, I know, who wants to be told what to do but you see I grew up in a household where orders are barked at us by my dad. It wasn’t all bad though, my dad was a soldier and I think he might have really taken it to heart so he kinda forgets sometimes that my brother and I are his kids and not a platoon.

Growing up, I loved rules up until college and in the early stages of my working life. I love it. I do. I was this goody two shoes (I’m still sort of a goody two shoes. Hihi), straight A student, rule-loving, sometimes TOO simple person. I grew up in a house were there are strict rules. I wasn’t allowed to do sleepovers (so we all ended up sleeping over at my house where my parents can see us. Haha! That’s when my house became the automatic hang out for my friends). I had to be home before my dad gets home.

School is a whole other story but still sort of the same. I went to a Catholic School from grade school, high school, and even college so I was surrounded by rules and guidelines. Well, some might say why follow them. I had a lot of rule-breaking friends but I wasn’t easily peer pressured (For the record, I would like to congratulate my parents for doing a great job because I was never swayed by peer pressure to cut class or do drugs or whatever crazy things kids do. :)) Β It was like I was programmed to do it. Cause I feel like rules are made to be followed. It is there for a reason. For a very long time, I was used to people telling me what to do or what not to do. I was okay with it, I guess. It brought order into things. Then, I graduated and felt like fish out of water.

In the real world, rules were made to be broken. Actually, come to think of it, there aren’t any rules or even guidelines on how to live it. When I graduated, my parents gave me the liberty to do whatever I want. School’s out and my parents are taking off the leash. It was mind-blowing. I was in charge of my life and it scared the hell out of me but I have come to realize that it’s better. A whole lot better. Knowing that I’m in charge of my life is so liberating. I didn’t have to follow anything or anybody and that meant the end of me being a people-pleaser.

After years and years of people pleasing, I stopped.Β So now, I hate it when people tell me what to do. When people tell me to do something I end up doing the exact opposite. Just to piss them off. Haha! Well of course, work is a different situation but other things are non-negotiable. Lately, people tend to give me a lot of unsolicited advice about my career and my love life (which is actually non-existent). They’re like: “You should do this.”, “Apply here”, “Don’t do that” or “you know this guy, you should date him”, “time’s running out, start dating now!!!” and I’m like: “seriously?!”

Newsflash: I know you’re itching to give out unsolicited advice but nobody wants it. No one wants to be told what to do. Even you.

 

