A few years back, I saw this movie starring James McAvoy in HBO called Starter for Ten. Last Christmas, i was surfing the net for book titles i could put in my wish list and came across a book by David Nicholls called, yup, Starter for Ten. I didn’t knew it was an adaptation. I actually can’t remember much from the film just that James McAvoy was in it (i had a James McAvoy phase once). So I decided to put it on my list and fortunately i got it for Christmas.

I’ve been reading a lot of Nick Hornby books so I was getting used to the British humor so I found this book quite entertaining. It was about Brian Jackson an awkward, social class conscious, most of the time lost, but really smart kid who just finished high school and is about to embark on the second chapter of his life that is University (or college to us). He then meets Alice Harbinson, the most beautiful girl he’s ever seen, and automatically falls in love with her. He also found himself part of the University Challenge team (some sort of Battle of the Brains). It’s a coming of age book that tells of his heartbreak, hopes, how he deals with change, facing challenges, and learning the answers to life’s biggest questions.

I liked the book because I sort of identified. I can kinda relate to some of the things he was going through. And it was funny too. Here are some of the lines i liked:

“All young people worry about things, it’s a natural and inevitable part of growing up…”

“What must that be like? To be admired before you’ve even said a word, to be desired two or three hundred times a day by people who have absolutely no idea what you’re like?” 

It was a good read. My brothers reading it now too. I think Brian is funny in a very unintentional way. He is the epitome of regular and average teenager who second guesses himself. He’s a little weird but you’re sure to find bits of yourself (a little bit of your teenage pimply self) in his character. We all are a little weird in our own ways. And we all did stupid things when we were younger. Some major blunders but definitely helps us know ourselves more.

Next read: One Day by David Nicholls

