It all started with a simple question:Β “Anong assignment bukas?”

I met Cha in college. She was this pretty girl na love life is my life and I was this manang na grade conscious. I would be seated near the front (if not on the first row) and I’d have my hand raised most of the time (dahil bibo ako sa recitation. haha!) and she’d be seated at the back with our other “pasaway” na classmates and she’d be talking on her phone or sneaking a text or two.

Christine Reyes lang ang peg nyan. πŸ™‚

One time after class, she asked for my land line number then she’d call about what chapters to read in psychology or what format was the paper for English 101 those sorts of things. The next thing I know, I was invited to her 18th birthday party and she was thanking me (in front of the madlang people) for always being there for questions about assignments. That was sophomore year i think and from then on we were friends.

We’ve been through a lot together. A lot meaning through every heart ache, crying session inside the 3rd and 5th floor rest rooms, sigawan blues in the arcade and everything else in between. I have seen her grow and mature as an individual. We have spent countless hours of telephone conversations about her love life and my lack of it, her relationships, our lives, and our dreams. She was one of those people who tirelessly stuck with me when I can’t even stand myself. One of those few who really understand me. She’s one of the best friends i have.

I’ve seen her at her best – she won Ms. Night Camp 2005! – and i’ve seen her at her worst. She’s a very special girl. A loving daughter, a good friend, and beautiful person inside and out. And today she’s celebrating her birthday and i just want to wish her ALL the good things in life because she deserves it. πŸ™‚

Happy Birthday Hermie! I love you! Have a great one! πŸ™‚

Happy Birthday Cha!!! ❀

