A few nights ago, an indie film called “100” was on cable. I was in the middle of reading a book I recently got for Christmas (which by the way is a little bit overrated, it’s okay but not really that great) and I saw Mylene Dizon (it was already 10 or 15 minutes into the movie when I tuned in) and remembered seeing her tweet about the premiere of her indie film with Eugene Domingo so I decided to watch it instead.

100 is a movie about a woman named Joyce played by Mylene Dizon. She has terminal cancer and has only about 3 months to live. Knowing that her life is nearing its end, she plans to accomplish a number of things before she goes on to the next life (she wrote it down on sticky notes and posted it on her wall) which includes picking her own casket and playlist during her wake. She then tells her best friend, Ruby, played by Eugene Domingo that she’s going to die soon. The two of them set out to do the things they have been wanting to do like going on a trip, doing an Ate Vi DVD marathon, and eventually telling Joyce’s mom played by Tessie Tomas. Joyce also had to do major “clean -up” by breaking up with Rod, her married boyfriend and look for her first love Emil. She also has to deal with her mother and her alternative ways of curing her cancer and her acceptance of the situation.

The movie shown an unconventional way of dealing with death. While most people would sulk and probably wallow in self pity and regret, Joyce dealt with it head on. It was as if she’s doing regular errands while arranging her memorial plans. I loved how real the interaction was between Joyce and Ruby. That’s exactly how long time friends are with each other. Especially the part where Joyce had to tell Ruby about her death. If I was in Ruby’s shoes, I would also bawl like a child, it would be really hard for me to accept or even fathom the idea of a perfectly young and supposedly healthy person whose got a lot of things to accomplish in life is about to day in a few months. I can’t be as nonchalant as Joyce because I dread death. I dread it not because i feel like i’m going to hell or something but because i feel like i haven’t made something out of myself. How would people eulogize me if the best thing i have ever done with my life is win word games or memorize dialogues from my favorite movies. I also dread the death of loved ones. I think it’s hard to die but i think it’s harder for those you leave behind. Thus, explains the heartbreaking dialogue of Tessie Tomas: “ang anak ang dapat naglilibing sa magulang, hindi yung kabaligtaran”. It’s really hard because you’re the one who has to live with the loss.

Overall, it was a good movie. I can’t believe i haven’t heard of it until lately. It will surely make you laugh and cry. Mylene Dizon and Eugene Domingo were so good. You’d really think that they’re best friends. Tessie Tomas also did good playing the role of the mother. The Emil twist was also cool. I don’t usually like indie movies because, well, most are pa-deep, but there are some just like 100 that are worth watching.

PS. I’m having a hard time uploading the trailer of the movie so please watch it here instead –> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUjYpd0Aj7E

